On January 1st, 2013 a new law will go into effect in the state of Florida that may limit Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance payouts. Passed by one vote in the Florida Senate, the law will place several new limits on PIP claims that cover medical expenses and lost wages. To receive the maximum $10,000 in medical coverage, policyholders must seek medical treatment within 14 days of an accident. Payments will be capped at $2,500 if the treatment is not for an â€œemergency medical condition,â€ and massage therapy and acupuncture are not covered at all. The result of this pro-insurance industry law will be to reduce PIP medical payments and compensation for bodily injury claims in the state of Florida.
Don’t forget the New PIP law is taking effect on January 1st. Click here for more information.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident due to someone else’s negligence, contact car accident lawyers at Burnetti, P.A. for a free consultation. Call 1-888-BURNETTI today